Types Of ARRT Credentials

Primary Pathway

This is how the majority of people earn their first ARRT credential.

Learn more about the primary pathway and its requirements.

Postprimary Pathway

  • (M) Mammography
  • (CT) Computed Tomography
  • (MR) Magnetic Resonance Imaging
  • (QM) Quality Management (new credentials offered through June 30, 2018, only)
  • (BD) Bone Densitometry
  • (CV) Cardiovascular Interventional Radiography (no longer accepting new applicants)
  • (CI) Cardiac Interventional Radiography
  • (VI) Vascular Interventional Radiography
  • (S) Sonography
  • (VS) Vascular Sonography
  • (BS) Breast Sonography

This pathway is for those are currently certified and registered with ARRT and would like to pursue an additional credential. The postprimary pathway may also be used by those who hold a credential from ARDMS or NMTCB. 

Learn more about the postprimary pathway and its requirements.

Physician Extender

  • (R.R.A.) Registered Radiologist Assistant

Learn more about the R.R.A. credential and its requirements.